Originally a “pandy” (Welsh for fulling mill) where hand spun and woven cloth was brought to be washed before the Industrial Revolution, the mill was situated on the fast flowing River Crafnant in order to use the water to drive the waterwheels and to wash the wool. The water is still used to drive a hydro-electric turbine dating from 1947 which powers the machinery.
The mill had been operating for over 30 years when it was bought by Thomas Williams in 1859. It is still owned and run by the same family and manufactures traditional Welsh bedcovers, travel rugs, “tapestry” by the metre and tweed.
Our products are available in the shop and online. Our shops also stocks pure wool knitwear and accessories from the British Isles and further afield.
Weaving and the hydro-electric turbine can be viewed through windows in the shop. Outside is a small Weaver’s Garden with labelled plants associated with textiles. Please check our website for hours and full details www.t-w-m.co.uk.
See our facebook page here