Trefriw, Conwy Valley, LL27 ONQ.
Trefriw Woollen Mills is one of the few remaining mills of what was once an important Welsh industry. Originally a Pandy (fulling mill) where hand spun and woven cloth was brought to be washed before the Industrial Revolution, it was situated on the fast running River Crafnant in order to use the water to drive the waterwheels and to wash the wool.
The mill had been operating for over 30 years when it was bought by Thomas Williams in 1859. It is still owned and run by the same family.
Visitors to our mill shop can buy our own products manufactured on site as well as a wide range of pure wool knitwear and accessories from the British Isles and further afield.
As well as looking round the shop, visitors can view the hydro-electric turbine and Dobcross looms to see traditional Welsh weaving in action and enjoy a cup of tea and a slice of bara brith in our tearoom.
For full details see the mill’s website.